Re: Bats - pipistrelles

Working with 6.13 last week it was very clear that the naming of pipistrelles was messy, with multiple terms not all being referenced properly.
Might there be some clarity put into the pipistrelles.

Im would hope that BCT has a position on this.

The issue is ensuring that the appropriate 'sense' of the term is returned from all possible places - i.e. whether the pipistrelle has been identified as 45 /55 khz or not.

Im no expert but I know I was confused.

MAtt

Cumbria Biodiversity Data Centre
Tullie House Museum

Over a year later and I'm struggling with the same issue! Pipistrellus pipistrellus appears to have two recommended taxon list item keys: NHMSYS0000332675 and NHMSYS0020316957. I assumed at first that one referred to species (including the splits), the other to an aggregate but that isn't the case.

In order to have designations that are as up to date as possible we use the JNCC species designations list which conveniently includes a taxon version key. The problem is that the TVK listed for Pipistrellus pipistrellus (NBNSYS0000005099) only links to one of the two RTLIKs so some pipistrelle records have not had their statuses flagged.

Is there a reason for this confusing position? What can be done to rectify it?

Bob Saville
Lothian Wildlife Information Centre

3 (edited by Graham French 10-09-2009 12:06:13)

Hello Bob

I have just tried to get my head around Pipistrellus pipistrellus in the NHM species dictionary and how it relates to your problem.

The 2 taxon list item keys refer to different taxa in the NHM species dictionary
- NHMSYS0000332675 referes to Pipistrellus pipistrellus sensu stricto (=Pipistrellus pipistrellus 45kHz). Taxonversionkey NHMSYS0020001355
- NHMSYS0020316957 refers to Pipistrellus pipistrellus sensu lato (=Pipistrellus pipistrellus 45kHz + Pipistrellus pipistrellus 55kHz (=Pipistrellus pygmaeus)). Taxonversionkey NHMSYS0020001356 (=taxon list item key NHMSYS0020316957)