Re: Birds and Mammals outside UK?

I am an amateur recorder and considering changing my current software to recorder 6. It would enable me to record taxa not catered for in my current s/ware (e.g. fungi) and be better aligned with my local record centre.

However, as well as UK records which I send to the relevant bodies, I also record birds and mammals whenever abroad. This is mostly for personal interest, but occasionally I send records abroad.

My present software does give me up to date world bird and world mammals species list (and European butterflies).

Does anyone know if I can get taxon/species lists for these groups for Recorder 6?

Also, I am used to being able to select birds (say) from the species known to be in the relevant country or geographic faunal/ zone, based on distribution in formation. This makes species selection much easier, especially when the same common name can be used for different species in different countries. Does Recorder 6 have a distribution of species concept?

I suppose if the answers to my questions are negative, I should post this in the 'features wanted' forum! I realise Recorder was built for UK recording, but why not take a broader view?

There are a lot of aliens, or non-native species in the Recorder 6 taxon dictionary. This is basically the Natural History Museum’s Species Dictionary. If you want to check the species you work with you can go to ‘Species Dictionary’ on the Natural History Museum’s web-site and search for them, although it is possible that not all of them have made it into R6 yet.